ICE announces the winners of the idea contest

ICE announces the winners of "Agriculture Rises with the Youngsters" idea contest

İzmir Commodity Exchange (ICE) announced the winners of "Agriculture Rises with the Youngsters" idea contest, which has been organized by the ICE for the second time this year to support young people who want to work in the field of agriculture. Just like the previous year, the contest was held under the following topics: Plant and Animal Production, Agricultural Marketing and Branding, Information and Technology in Agriculture, Rural Development and Women.

The ICE chairperson Mrs. Işınsu Kestelli expressed that the interest shown in the "Agriculture Rises with the Youngsters" idea contest by the youngsters who want to study in the field of agriculture was quite important in terms of rendering the agriculture sustainable, which is of strategic importance for our country. Indicating that the researches carried out in recent years pointed out that agrarian population had been aging in Turkey, Mrs. Kestelli stressed that this development was not pleasant for a country of agriculture like Turkey and that they were very pleased to encourage youngsters to have a rising interest in agriculture and to give them a chance to assert themselves in the field of agriculture.

As a result of the evaluations carried out by the jury comprising our Board members, academicians and representatives of official institutions from among 44 projects that comply with the contest specification, the first, second and third projects will be awarded 5000, 3000 and 2000 Turkish Liras, respectively. In addition to the first three, three more contesters, whose ideas are deemed by the jury worth awarding, will be awarded 1000 TL each as an honourable mention. The awards will be presented to the winners at a ceremony to be held in İzmir Commodity Exchange soon.

Winners of the contest:

1st: Ali Kiremitçi - Floor Pad

2nd: Bahadır Rüstem Toğaç - Auto-controlled Seedling Budding Machine

3rd: Mert Kalaycı - My Hobby Garden

Honourable mention: Tuğba Okyay - Plantin Production

Honourable mention: Murat Mülayim - Smart Agriculture with Battery-free Sensors

Honourable mention: Oğuzhan Baş - An Ecology Miracle "Biological Coal"